Islam, a name given by God Almighty to this religion (Holy Qur’an 5:4), is an Arabic word whose literal meaning is “obedience and peace”.

The world “Islam” derives from the Arabic root of “Salema” meaning; peace, purity, submission and obedience.  Thus, ‘Islam’ would mean the path of those who are obedient to God Almighty and who establish peace with Him and His creatures.  The followers of this religion are called Muslims.

Islam is not a new religion.  It is, in essence, the same message and guidance which God Almighty revealed to all prophets before Prophet Muhammad peace be upon him.  God Almighty says in the Qur’ân:

“Say, `We believe in ALLAH and that which has been revealed to us, and that which was revealed to Abraham and Ishmael and Isaac and Jacob and the tribes, and in that which was given to Moses and Jesus and other Prophets from their Lord. We make no distinction between any of them and to HIM we submit.” (The Holy Qur’an 3:85)

Six main Articles of faith in Islam

The Five Pillars of Islam (Declaration of the Islamic Faith)

In order to enter into the fold of Islam i.e. to be Muslim, one has to know, believe, accept totally and sincerely apply the five basic principles (Pillars) on which Islam is based: Ibn Umar narrated that the Messenger of Allah – Prophet Muhammad (P.B.U.H) said: Islam is based on the following five pillars (principles).

  1. Bearing witness that there is no God but Allah and that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah
  2. Observance of Prayer
  3. Paying Zakat
  4. Fasting during Ramadhan
  5. Pilgrimage to the house of Allah.